March 2014 Calendar/Newsletter

posted Mar 3, 2014, 10:58 AM by Sylwia Jasinski

Tuesday, March 4 – Senior Picture Day

Friday, March 7 – 7th Grade Trip – selected classes

Sunday, March 9 – Daylight Savings Time begins À

Tuesday, March 11 -  Mock ELA Exam

Wednesday, March 12 - School Leadership Team Meeting · 3:15 PM

Thursday, March 13 – Safety Committee Meeting · Pd. 1- parents welcome

Friday, March 14 – 7th Grade Trip – selected classes

Monday, March 17 – Vision Screening –selected students

Tuesday, March 18 – 6th & 7th Grade Picture Day

Wednesday, March 19 – District 20 CEC Meeting  · 7PM

Thursday, March 20 – Spring begins {{{

Thursday, March 20 – Parent Association Meeting & Workshop · 6 PM

Friday, March 21 – 7th Grade Trip – selected classes

Saturday, March 22 – SLT Meeting / Middle School Principal’s Conference

Monday, March 24 - Parent Workshop “ Dealing With Test Anxiety”

Tuesday, March 25 – Trivia Show

Wednesday, March 26 - School Leadership Team Meeting · 3:15 PM

Friday, March 28 – Broadway Jr. Performance · 6 PM

April 2014

April 1, 2 & 3 – NYS ELA EXAM

Free Breakfast is available to all students from 7:00 AM-7:45 AM

 

”       Parent Association Meeting & Parent Workshop

Taller para los Padres ²  家長講座

“Importance of 7th Grade in HS Application Process”

Thursday, March 20, 2014 @ 6:00 PM

Jueves, 20 de marzo ² 星期四3 20

Please attend

Parent Workshop ²  Taller para los Padres ²  家長講座

“Dealing With Stress Anxiety”

Presented by CITE, Matt Zagami & Meander Cheng

Monday, March 24, 2014 at 6 PM

Lunes, 24 de marzo ² 星期   3 24

 

Learning Environment Surveys *

This spring, the New York City Department of Education will give the eight annual Learning Environment Survey to every parent, teacher, and 6-12th grade student citywide. This is an exciting opportunity for the people who know their schools best to tell us what they think.
The voices of parents, students, and teachers count in two important ways. Survey results are reported to school communities and the public through Survey Reports. Survey results also count for 10% of schools’ yearly
Progress Report grades.

To find out more information about last year’s Learning Environment Survey please look at IS 220 page @ http://schools.nyc.gov/OA/SchoolReports/2012-13/Survey_2013_K220.pdf

Surveys were given out to students on Wednesday, February 26.

*  Please be on a lookout for GREEN Survey Envelope  *

Good News for all I.S. 220 students and their families. On February 25, 26, 27 & 28 Pershing students had Vision Screenings provided by Helen Keller International/ChildSight. In all 327 students that had difficulty seeing received an exam by a licensed optometrist. In addition 105 students are scheduled to see the optometrist on March 17th. A free pair of eye glasses was provided to 264 students. There are 63 students receiving a referral to a local provider for a comprehensive examination and then will be given glasses. The screening and glasses are free of charge.

 

Did you have a chance to visit IS 220 Parent Portal?

http://parent-portal.pershing220.org You can see the latest news, calendar, and links to Engrade & ArisParentLink.

 

Comments